Monday, February 23, 2015

Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award :: 2015

2015 Outstanding Librarian
in Support of Literacy Award

CLA's Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award recognizes a librarian who has demonstrated passion, excellence and dedication in support of adult literacy. One award is given each year and the recipient is honored at the CLA Awards Ceremony during the annual conference.

The honoree receives a plaque and $750 to support his or her continued engagement with the California Library Association. The funds may be used for CLA conference travel expenses and/or CLA membership renewal.

The award is sponsored in part by the Library of Congress Literacy Awards and the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. It is also supported by BALit, SCLLN, and NCLC.

Nominations must be received by March 31, 2015

Purpose: This award is to recognize and honor a librarian who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to support literacy.
•The nominee can be a library staff member who has performed one or more of the following services in support of literacy: outreach, programming, advocacy, recruitment, public awareness, collection development, fundraising, other -- you name it!
•The nominee cannot be a literacy services staff person who already provides direct literacy services.
•Persons nominated for the award are required to be CLA members.
•Nominators are not required to be CLA members. However, if a nomination is made by a non-member, the nomination must be endorsed by a CLA member. If you need assistance in finding a CLA member to endorse your nomination, please contact the CLA office no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.
•Only one nomination per library jurisdiction is permitted.
•The OLSL Award is an individual award and a nomination may not be made for a group.

Only one nomination per library jurisdiction is allowed. This is an individual award – nomination cannot be for a group. The winner will be honored at the CLA 2015 Conference in Pasadena.

Past Winners:
2104: Natasha Casteel, City Librarian, Roseville Public Library
2013: Patricia Noa, Regional Services Manager, Orange County Public Library
2012: Christy Aguirre, Sacramento Public Library
2011: Patricia Lorenzo, Santa Clara County Library District
2010: Anne Cain, Contra Costa County Library
2009: Derek Wolfgram, Santa Clara County Library
2008: Jean Hofacket, Alameda County Library
2007: Carol Starr, Marin County Free Library
2006: John M. Adams, Orange County Public Library
2005: Sofia Bellos, Oxnard Public Library
2004: Leslie McGinnis Rodd, Oakland Public Library
2003: Chuck Aston, Redwood City Public Library

No comments: