Monday, February 26, 2018

California Library Association :: 2018 Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award

Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award

CLA's Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award recognizes a librarian who has demonstrated passion, excellence and dedication in support of adult literacy.

Two awards will be given out in 2018. The Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award recipients will each receive $1,000 and will be honored at the CLA annual conference.

The 2018 award nomination period will close on
Friday, March 30, 2018 at 5:00pm.

➤The nominee can be a library staff member who has performed one or more of the following services in support of literacy: outreach, programming, advocacy, recruitment, public awareness, collection development, fundraising, other -- you name it!
➤The nominee cannot be a literacy services staff person who already provides direct literacy services.
➤Persons nominated for the award are required to be CLA members.
➤Nominators are not required to be CLA members. However, if a nomination is made by a non-member, the nomination must be endorsed by a CLA member. If you need assistance in finding a CLA member to endorse your nomination, please contact the CLA office no later than two weeks prior to the deadline.
➤Only one nomination per library jurisdiction is permitted.
➤The OLSL Award is an individual award and a nomination may not be made for a group.

How to nominate
➤Nominators should submit the following to CLA:
➤A brief description of what the nominee has done to demonstrate passion, excellence, and dedication on behalf of literacy. (Not to exceed 300 words.)
➤Information about the nominee's library background and what the nominee's outstanding qualities are. E.g., how long has s/he worked in libraries and what has been the nature of that work? (Not to exceed 150 words.)
➤Anything else the committee should know about the nominee. (Not to exceed 150 words.)

The California Center for the Book is a recipient of a local Library of Congress Literacy Award for use in supporting state literacy initiatives. Through the generosity of David M. Rubenstein, the Library of Congress Literacy Awards program furthers the Library's mission by honoring organizations that have made outstanding contributions to increasing literacy in the United States or abroad. The awards also encourage the continuing development of innovative methods for promoting literacy and the wide dissemination of the most effective practices. They are intended to draw public attention to the importance of literacy, and the need to promote literacy and encourage reading.

Past Winners:
2017: Ned Branch, Blanchard Community Library
2016: Heather Pizzuto, Carlsbad City Library
2015: Jayanti Addleman, Monterey County Free Libraries
2014: Natasha Casteel, City Librarian, Roseville Public Library
2013: Patricia Noa, Regional Services Manager, Orange County Public Library
2012: Christy Aguirre, Sacramento Public Library
2011: Patricia Lorenzo, Santa Clara County Library District
2010: Anne Cain, Contra Costa County Library
2009: Derek Wolfgram, Santa Clara County Library
2008: Jean Hofacket, Alameda County Library
2007: Carol Starr, Marin County Free Library
2006: John M. Adams, Orange County Public Library
2005: Sofia Bellos, Oxnard Public Library
2004: Leslie McGinnis Rodd, Oakland Public Library
2003: Chuck Aston, Redwood City Public Library

No comments: